BOOK REVIEW – Raymond Chandler’s FAREWELL, MY LOVELY

Farewell, My LovelyFarewell, My Lovely by Raymond Chandler
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The New Yorker put it best…

“Chandler wrote as if pain hurt and life mattered.”

Chandler’s rich prose, his multi-faceted protagonist and often one-dimensional “bad guys” defined a genre… he set a standard that, while many have aspired to, few have met.

I loved the twists and turns in Farewell, My Lovely… from a routine case, Marlowe “steps in it” and finds himself embroiled in murder, a ring of jewel thieves, and more murder.

Through it all, Mr Chandler keeps his character human… he doesn’t make him out to be some sort of super-hero.. Marlowe gets cut… he bleeds. He gets “coshed”, he hurts. But, he keeps getting back up… relentless.

I loved this book immensely and would recommend to anyone. My favorite line…

“I like smooth shiny girls, hard-boiled and loaded with sin.”

Me too, Mr. Marlowe… me too! *wink*

View all my reviews

About VeronicaThePajamaThief

Bio: Veronica Marie Lewis-Shaw Born in Lisboa, Portugal to parents of Portuguese/Russian descent, Veronica Marie and her wife, Christina Anne, call the Pacific Northwest home, where the couple are “still very much on honeymoon!” When not teaching and finishing her own studies for a Masters in Sociology, Veronica writes fiction, primarily noir - "I love dark!". Her long fascination with noir fiction prompted Veronica to try her own hand at writing fiction several years ago. She has been published in Pulp Metal Magazine, The Lost Children: A Charity Anthology, the horror anthology 100 Horrors, from Cruentus Libri Press, Nightfalls: an End of the World anthology, Drunk On The Moon 2: A Roman Dalton anthology and Gloves Off: Near To the Knuckle's debut anthology. Veronica has also appeared in the inaugural issue of Literary Orphans magazine and her horror/urban fantasy short story SOUL TAKER was recently chosen for inclusion in Lily Childs' february femmes fatales, an urban fantasy/horror anthology. Veronica counts among her mentors - Carole A Parker, Lily Childs, Paul D Brazill, Richard Godwin, Joyce Juzwik and Vicki Abelson. She is currently working on the third draft of her first novel – a memoir – as well the second draft of her first fiction novel, a fantasy novel and the publication of a collection of her flash fiction and short stories. Lily's The Feardom and Vicki Abelson's Women Who Write Facebook writing group have both been a tremendous source of support and inspiration for Veronica. Veronica’s writings can be found athttp://veronicathepajamathief.blogspot.com/ andhttp://veronicathepajamathiefwritespoetry.blogspot.com/, andhttps://veronicathepajamathief.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BOOK REVIEW – Raymond Chandler’s FAREWELL, MY LOVELY

  1. One of my favorites. Chandler”s Mysyeries are the cream of the genre.

  2. Tom Williams says:

    Hello Vernoica – I enjoyed your review. You probably know this but Farewell, My Lovely was Chandler’s favourite of his own novels. He also really had to fight to get the title past his publisher. They – that is Knopf – didn’t think it was befitting of a mystery: Chandler thought it sounded right and that it had the right sort of mystery about it. Thank goodness he won!

    • Thank you very much, Tom. Yes, I did know that. I have a friend who is a huge Chandler fan… Carole turned on to both Chandler and Hammett.

      Farewell, My Lovely is my favorite too… he set the bar with this novel. I am very glad that Chandler stuck to his guns on the title… “Farewell, My Lovely” literally “screams” mystery. I have to wonder if the people at Knopf had much experience with the genre?

      Thank you for dropping by and reading my review. I am in the middle of several writing projects right now, so not getting a lot of reading in, but “The High Window” and Hammett’s “Red Harvest” are sitting on my “to-read” shelf… just waiting for me!

Leave a Reply

