Anyone of sufficient intelligence can be an engineer. Writing requires something that can’t be taught in a classroom… not everyone can be a writer.

You are a writer… don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. And remember… you don’t exist to be validated by others… only you have the right to do that.

Feisty Red Hair

“You’re not a writer,” a friend told me over drinks last week.  “I mean, what have you written other than what’s on this blog?”  I sat stunned, speechless.  My attempt at publicizing my new blog had obviously fallen flat on its face.  This guy was actually challenging my very right to have a blog, and that made me highly defensive.

“Well,” I stammered around for an answer, “I did an English degree.  I’ve done a lot of speech writing.  I edited a small newspaper.  I’ve written for myself for many years; I have boxes of journals and diaries at home.”  I hated feeling like I had to justify my ability to write.

That wasn’t good enough for him.  “Writing is fundamentally an egotistical and selfish act.  No offense!”  I was furious, but tried to remain calm.  “How so?”

“You’re cutting yourself off from everyone else in order to develop your…

View original post 491 more words

About VeronicaThePajamaThief

Bio: Veronica Marie Lewis-Shaw Born in Lisboa, Portugal to parents of Portuguese/Russian descent, Veronica Marie and her wife, Christina Anne, call the Pacific Northwest home, where the couple are “still very much on honeymoon!” When not teaching and finishing her own studies for a Masters in Sociology, Veronica writes fiction, primarily noir - "I love dark!". Her long fascination with noir fiction prompted Veronica to try her own hand at writing fiction several years ago. She has been published in Pulp Metal Magazine, The Lost Children: A Charity Anthology, the horror anthology 100 Horrors, from Cruentus Libri Press, Nightfalls: an End of the World anthology, Drunk On The Moon 2: A Roman Dalton anthology and Gloves Off: Near To the Knuckle's debut anthology. Veronica has also appeared in the inaugural issue of Literary Orphans magazine and her horror/urban fantasy short story SOUL TAKER was recently chosen for inclusion in Lily Childs' february femmes fatales, an urban fantasy/horror anthology. Veronica counts among her mentors - Carole A Parker, Lily Childs, Paul D Brazill, Richard Godwin, Joyce Juzwik and Vicki Abelson. She is currently working on the third draft of her first novel – a memoir – as well the second draft of her first fiction novel, a fantasy novel and the publication of a collection of her flash fiction and short stories. Lily's The Feardom and Vicki Abelson's Women Who Write Facebook writing group have both been a tremendous source of support and inspiration for Veronica. Veronica’s writings can be found athttp://veronicathepajamathief.blogspot.com/ andhttp://veronicathepajamathiefwritespoetry.blogspot.com/, andhttps://veronicathepajamathief.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. cathy rankin says:

    Thank you for the reminder!

  2. Laura says:

    I do think someone who claims to be a writer should have some clue when it comes to writing the English language. Even an engineer has to make sure people aren’t electrocuted when they turn on a light switch. But, I agree, there is more to it than just the technical side.

    My Dad was an electrical engineer. I developed a fear of electrical outlets by the time I was a teenager. lol I still don’t like plugging things in or unplugging them. He would fix things around the house but not finish a lot of them. The worst shock I ever had was from touching the kitchen sink as I started the dishwasher one night.

  3. Absolutely! I have read some self-published books on Amazon that have atrocious grammar. If one wants to be a writer, more than just a passing familiarity with the English language is required.

    I do hope I have not offended anyone with my remark about engineers. I certainly didn’t intend to. Engineering is an honest and admirable profession… one I am sure they don’t just hand out degrees for. My uncle, a construction engineer, reminded me of this last night.

    I gained a healthy respect for electricity back in college. The disposal in our apartment had stopped working, so I… brave but foolish soul… started ‘rooting’ around under the sink. It turned out to be a loose connection between two wires (apparently, the landlord of the building was no electrician!) I think my hair was on end for about a week!

Leave a Reply

