Great advice! I totally agree with Rachel’s comment about self-promotion. The comment space on one of my posts is not the place to do it. It’s almost like spam, and I will give it the same consideration as the comments in my ‘spam box’ (sound of toilet flushing). I love getting comments and ‘likes’, and I strive to respond to every single one. What will get me to come back to your site is the same thing that [hopefully] brought you to mine… a post that piques my interest, not you waving your arms and shouting ‘look at me… look at me…!” 🙂

The WordPress.com Blog

After moving from New York City to Chicago and getting married, Rachel Bertsche realized that her new life was missing one crucially important thing: a local best friend. So she decided to go on one friend date every week for a year, and she documented her quest on a WordPress.com blog at MWFseekingBFF.com.

But before Rachel even started the blog, the 27-year-old writer put together a book proposal based on her search for a local BFF, and successfully pitched it to agents, and then editors. She says, “After I sold the proposal, I decided to start a blog so that I could have a place to document my journey and some of the research I was finding. I also wanted to start building a community and to engage with readers.”

It’s now been over two years since Rachel first launched MWFseekingBFF.com. So did she accomplish her blogging goals?…

View original post 646 more words

About VeronicaThePajamaThief

Bio: Veronica Marie Lewis-Shaw Born in Lisboa, Portugal to parents of Portuguese/Russian descent, Veronica Marie and her wife, Christina Anne, call the Pacific Northwest home, where the couple are “still very much on honeymoon!” When not teaching and finishing her own studies for a Masters in Sociology, Veronica writes fiction, primarily noir - "I love dark!". Her long fascination with noir fiction prompted Veronica to try her own hand at writing fiction several years ago. She has been published in Pulp Metal Magazine, The Lost Children: A Charity Anthology, the horror anthology 100 Horrors, from Cruentus Libri Press, Nightfalls: an End of the World anthology, Drunk On The Moon 2: A Roman Dalton anthology and Gloves Off: Near To the Knuckle's debut anthology. Veronica has also appeared in the inaugural issue of Literary Orphans magazine and her horror/urban fantasy short story SOUL TAKER was recently chosen for inclusion in Lily Childs' february femmes fatales, an urban fantasy/horror anthology. Veronica counts among her mentors - Carole A Parker, Lily Childs, Paul D Brazill, Richard Godwin, Joyce Juzwik and Vicki Abelson. She is currently working on the third draft of her first novel – a memoir – as well the second draft of her first fiction novel, a fantasy novel and the publication of a collection of her flash fiction and short stories. Lily's The Feardom and Vicki Abelson's Women Who Write Facebook writing group have both been a tremendous source of support and inspiration for Veronica. Veronica’s writings can be found athttp://veronicathepajamathief.blogspot.com/ andhttp://veronicathepajamathiefwritespoetry.blogspot.com/, andhttps://veronicathepajamathief.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. I love the one friend date idea! And I think we can all do with a little less hand-waving and “come over here’s” as the commenter put it 🙂

    • Hi Jenny!

      Rachel’s one friend date idea is great, isn’t it? I am saving this article. We may be moving in the not too distant future and I am definitely going to need a new local BFF.

      Yes, hand-waving and ‘come over here’s’ do have their place, and I do want to show support for fellow writers, but there are better places than the comments on someone else’s blog… writer’s groups, a post on your own blog, Facebook…

      I’ve probably been guilty of this a time or two, but as I gain experience in the ‘world of blogging’, I am trying to recognize those behaviors and follow some good etiquette.

Leave a Reply

