LILYCHILDSFEARDOM.BLOGSPOT.COM – LILY’S FRIDAY PREDICTION FOR MAY 3, 2012: UNDER A KILLING MOON

New flash fiction over at http://lilychildsfeardom.blogspot.com/2012/04/lilys-friday-prediction-and-exciting.html

Rules – 100 words max flash fiction or poetry using the following words – backyard, tartan, prowl.  Deadline is 9pm UK time on Thursday 3rd May 2012.

UNDER A KILLING MOON

By Veronica Marie Lewis-Shaw

~~**~~

Staring at the massive wooden door wouldn’t bring Ian back… Moira knew that.  He’d gone up from the cellar over an hour ago… a loud thud… then silence.

A neighbor had rung up Moira… she’d seen someone on the prowl last night… staggering around her backyard… drunk on the moonlight.

A killing moon Eileen had said…

Pushing up the heavy door, Moira peered over the edge… Ian lay crumpled in sanguineous tartan… hellish creature holding his head… a wet, crunching sound.

Mouth glistening with gore… the pale, bloodied zombie hissed…

The door dropped with a crash… Moira began to pray.

~finis~

© 2012 – Veronica Marie Lewis-Shaw.  All Rights Reserved.

About VeronicaThePajamaThief

Bio: Veronica Marie Lewis-Shaw Born in Lisboa, Portugal to parents of Portuguese/Russian descent, Veronica Marie and her wife, Christina Anne, call the Pacific Northwest home, where the couple are “still very much on honeymoon!” When not teaching and finishing her own studies for a Masters in Sociology, Veronica writes fiction, primarily noir - "I love dark!". Her long fascination with noir fiction prompted Veronica to try her own hand at writing fiction several years ago. She has been published in Pulp Metal Magazine, The Lost Children: A Charity Anthology, the horror anthology 100 Horrors, from Cruentus Libri Press, Nightfalls: an End of the World anthology, Drunk On The Moon 2: A Roman Dalton anthology and Gloves Off: Near To the Knuckle's debut anthology. Veronica has also appeared in the inaugural issue of Literary Orphans magazine and her horror/urban fantasy short story SOUL TAKER was recently chosen for inclusion in Lily Childs' february femmes fatales, an urban fantasy/horror anthology. Veronica counts among her mentors - Carole A Parker, Lily Childs, Paul D Brazill, Richard Godwin, Joyce Juzwik and Vicki Abelson. She is currently working on the third draft of her first novel – a memoir – as well the second draft of her first fiction novel, a fantasy novel and the publication of a collection of her flash fiction and short stories. Lily's The Feardom and Vicki Abelson's Women Who Write Facebook writing group have both been a tremendous source of support and inspiration for Veronica. Veronica’s writings can be found athttp://veronicathepajamathief.blogspot.com/ andhttp://veronicathepajamathiefwritespoetry.blogspot.com/, andhttps://veronicathepajamathief.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Horror and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to LILYCHILDSFEARDOM.BLOGSPOT.COM – LILY’S FRIDAY PREDICTION FOR MAY 3, 2012: UNDER A KILLING MOON

  1. Billie Jean says:

    Wow, wishing it hadn’t ended cause I wanted to know what was going to happen next! Are you entering this is a contest?

    • Thank you, Billie Jean. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      I wrote this for Lily Childs Friday Prediction, a weekly 100 word flash challenge with a horror/urban fantasy theme.

      I have written several zombie ‘vignettes’ for Lily’s flash challenge and one day I hope to write a zombie apocalypse story where I expand on these and bring them all together.

  2. dex says:

    I love flash fiction, but I’ve never attempted anything in the 100 words range. (I usually write around 500 words.) I’m incredibly impressed by the visions and emotions you’ve conjured in such a short space. Really nice.

    • Thank you very much, Dex… I am glad you liked the story.

      100 word flash is very challenging indeed… eve more so when you consider that I had not written a single word of horror before… trying to tell a story with only a handful of words. Before I began writing for Lily’s weekly challenges, my shortest story had been about 800 words… and that one was incredibly challenging for me at the time because I write in the 1000-1500+ range. I also have a couple of 10,000 word stories and am working on a 3000 word piece as well as another story that will probably come in around 3500 words.

      So, yes… 100 word flash… it does take some getting used to, especially for a writer like me who loves to use words. I can get very descriptive in my writing as I want to bring a realism to my stories that people will identify with.

      Of course now… I am addicted to 100 word flash!

      Lily will be closing Friday Prediction in a couple of weeks – here is a link – http://lilychildsfeardom.blogspot.com/2012/04/lilys-friday-prediction-and-exciting.html

      If you are interested in writing 100 word flash with a horror/urban fantasy theme, Phil Ambler will be taking over the reins from Lily this month. His site is – http://phlambler.blogspot.co.uk/.

      • dex says:

        Thanks for the info! I’m going to have to give a 100-word story a spin.

        And I’m even more impressed with your story if that was your first crack at horror. Well done!

  3. Actually, Dex… Under A Killing Moon isn’t my first crack at horror… I meant to say that my very first attempt at 100 word flash was a horror story – Zombie Sunday, over at Lily’s Friday Prediction.

    I have been writing horror for a little over a year now, but only 100 word flash… I haven’t written anything bigger yet. I’ve probably only done about 20 hundred word flash pieces so far.

    I am going to do a full length story based on the zombie-themed flash pieces (5 or six, now) I have done for Lily.

    I do hope you give Phil’s site a try ( http://phlambler.blogspot.co.uk/.) as this is Lily’s last week hosting the Friday Prediction…. although, you have until 9PM UK time this Thursday to submit for Lily’s last host…

    And now, I need to go proof my entry for this week and post it to Lily’s blog.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

